Dead Man’s Hand: Rogues’ Gallery – Doc Amos

So far I have looked at Maeve Newton, Calamity Jane, Dolores Wood and John Bridges the Rogues Gallery of heroes for Dead Mans Hand.

This time although having mentioned him earlier – I thought I’d have a deeper look at good old Doc Amos. Now I have created my Doc using parts from the Gunfighters box set from Great Escape Games and parts from the Partisans box set from Wargames Atlantic.

So who is Doc Amos – now let me first say Great escape games do have a miniature that comes with his Unique special play card. Now as I have not bought him I have no idea what this card offers, luckily the core rules for him are available for free to download from the Great Escape Games web site.

He costs 2 Rep to add to a gang, and has — no starting stats, yep you read that correctly no Hits, No nerve, no Shoot and No HtH he is also unarmed. So lets see what he can do for your gang.

Doc has 2 special skills.

UNARMED – as he is a healer and there appears to be some form of respect for healers – Doc can never be targeted or taken out of action, nor may he take shoot actions or enter HtH. Now this helps explain his lack of stats. He also never counts as obscuring another target nor impeding movement – in a way he is a ghost – Oh really wish I had painted him up that way.. maybe if I ever get the actual figure.

HEALING HANDs – So long as Doc is in base to base contact with a model that has suffered under fire markers he can take one special Heal action per turn as part of his normal 3 actions. When he does this a D20 is rolled and on a 1-10 one under fire marker is removed, on 11-17 two under fire markers are removed and wait for it – on a roll of 18-20 three markers are removed.

Unsurprisingly as a Doctor he heals people .. now I’d love to know what his special card does and maybe one day I’ll be able to share it with you. Ok so recently got the official model and so I can now tell you what the special card is.

First up it is a 5 – so you potentially can play Doc and the Reverend in the same gang and include both of their special cards.

  • “You’re not quite dead yet” – possibly not surprisingly this card is played when one of your models is taken out of action by the enemy (so not if you use an ability which results in one of your models going out of action). The “Doc” immediately interrupts, can take up to 2 move actions to reach the affected moedl, if he manages to reach the model then it ignores the last hit taken. This could of course result in it removing all underfire markers, if the character started healthy and the last hit caused an “Out of Action result”, 2 underfire markers (for a 15-18 result) or just 1 underfire marker.

Now to me the doc is well worth his 2 rep cost – Healing hands and the potential of the “You’re not quite dead yet” card actually means he could really ruin your opponents plans and day.

One more piccy of my version of Doc – see if you can spot the 2 errors.

Published by Hysnap - Gamer and Mental Health sufferer

I created this blog as a place to discuss Mental health issues. I chose to include Music ,PC Gaming videos and more recently tabletop gaming as all of these have helped with the management of my Mental Health and I thought people who find the Blog for these may also find the Mental Health resources useful. I am aware that a lot of people with Mental Health concerns are not aware that this is what they have or how to go about getting help, I know I was one of these people for at least 10 years. Therefore if one person is helped by the content on my Blog, if one person discovers the blog and gets a better understanding of Mental Health through the videos I post, then all the work will have been worthwhile. If not.. well I am enjoying making the videos and writing the blog, and doing things I enjoy helps my mental health so call it a self serving therapy.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started